Excellence and Achievement Awards

Running continuously since 1993, the Electra Kapiti Horowhenua Business Awards are possibly the longest-running Regional Business Awards in New Zealand.

This year the Awards have been renamed to the  Electra Business & Innovation Awards and is made up of industry-based categories with an optional two categories based on business size.

Industry categories:

Food production and processing.
Hospitality, entertainment and tourism.
Construction and trades.
Professional and business services, or technology
Not for profit, community and public services.


Small business.
Hall of fame
Electra business of the year 2020


The Industry Category Awards are the main awards of the Electra Business Awards with opt-in awards of New/Emerging and Small Business. You must, however, have entered an industry category first to be eligible to enter a sub-category.

Our Awards

Our awards are firmly based on the international Business Excellence model the Baldrige framework, and entrants undergo robust assessing and judging processes against set criteria designed to be useful for kiwi SMEs.

Businesses, not-for-profit or other organisations can enter as long as they have identified ‘customers’.  Customer are people or entities which the business focuses on to deliver services too.

You complete an entry form across all 7 business excellence category areas, are assessed against these and receive a feedback report

1. Leadership

2. Strategy & Planning

3. Customer & Market Focus

4. Information, Knowledge & Performance Improvement

5. Workforce Focus

6. Operations:  Business Systems and Process Management

7. Business Results.


Electra Business of the Year

The overall ‘Electra Business of the Year’ is selected from the winners across all the awards categories in the Excellence & Achievement Awards.

Assessing and Judging

The Awards are migrating to an online entry form for 2020! More information will be updated to this website in the coming weeks.

Entrants are assessed by BKH  Judges, who are experts in their fields and will judge the relevant questions and provide score sets and feedback accordingly.

Customer Choice Awards have been removed for 2020!

After all assessing and voting is complete, the Judges meet to decide the finalists. At this point, judges will meet with finalists for the second round of judges visits where the winners will be identified. The Judge’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

The Judges also maintain an independent overview of the entire awards process, to ensure its overall quality, impartiality, and robustness.

Reasons to Enter