About BKH

Business Kapiti Horowhenua (BKH) Inc

Business Kapiti Horowhenua Incorporated (BKH) is a volunteer-run, not-for-profit, body which organises the annual Kapiti Horowhenua Business Awards, and convenes and coordinates the Kapiti Horowhenua Business Hall of Fame.

The Annual General Meeting is usually held immediately after an Information Evening (around March/April). All welcome. Only Members may vote.

You are welcome to download Notice of Meeting and Nomination Form for current year, Minutes from the last AGM, Chairs Report & Financial Documents and BKH Constitution:

2018 AGM Notice & Nomination Form

2018 AGM Minutes                                

2017 AGM Financial Report                

2017 AGM Chairs Report                      

BKH Constitution  (2015)                      

BKH Membership – Open to all persons over 18 years of age, click here for a membership application form. All entrants of the previous year’s business awards become members unless they have indicated they do not wish to be. The membership fee is currently zero dollars. Donations are welcome, email [email protected] for details.

Gratitude – The following people give their time and expertise to help make the awards and the Hall of Fame a success, year after year. We thank them.

BKH Board – Elected annually (except for the Chair which is a two-year term) at the AGM. The current board are:

Chair: Brendan Duffy

Secretary: Contracted service provided by Carmel Leonard [email protected]

Treasurer: Steve Gregan

Ross Leggett

Mark Ternent

Chris Barber

Helen Beban

Angela Buswell

Awards Assessors – BKH contracts professional assessors on a partial fee basis. The assessors read all entries, interview entrants, score entries and then make finalist and winner recommendations to the judges. They also write feedback reports for the entrants. The positions are reviewed annually by a ‘Assessors Selection Panel’, and registrations of interest to be an assessor from suitably qualified people are accepted at any time by contacting the BKH Secretary.


  • Mark Ternent Chief Assessor
  • Heather Hutchings
  • Adrian Gregory
  • Cliff Daly
  • Antony Young

Awards Judges – A volunteer judging panel of judges oversee the awards processes and make all final decisions on finalists and winners:

  • Head Judge: Suzanne Snively
  • Gus Van de Roer
  • Gerry McCullough
  • Steph Dyhrberg
  • Tod Cooper

Entry Coordinator – BKH contracts Helene Judge of Kapiti Business Projects for her professional services in building relationships with potential entrants and mentoring them throughout the entry process.

Media Releases – Thank you to Stephen Leslie, The Perfect Angle for writing our releases on a voluntary basis.

Case Studies – Also thank you to Stephen Leslie, The Perfect Angle for writing the Electra Business of the Year winner case studies.